Doctors of the Church

General Information

The Roman Catholic Church recognizes 30 men and 3 women as pre-eminent theologians, people from whom all Catholics can confidently learn from. Originally, there were four Doctors (of the Catholic or Western Church), first named in 1298 AD:

Later, four corresponding Doctors of the Eastern (Orthodox) Church were named, in 1568 AD:

No women were included in this list until 1970 AD.

Here is the entire list of the current 33 Doctors of the Church, in approximate chronological order.

The individual articles presented here were generally first published in the early 1980s. This subject presentation was first placed on the Internet in December 1997.

This page - - - - is at
This subject presentation was last updated on - -

Copyright Information

Send an e-mail question or comment to us: E-mail

The main BELIEVE web-page (and the index to subjects) is at: BELIEVE Religious Information Source - By Alphabet