Our List of 300 Religious Subjects

Book of Leviticus

(luh - vit' - ih - kuhs)

General Information

Leviticus is the third book of the Pentateuch, or Torah, the first five books of the Bible, which are traditionally ascribed to Moses. Its name is derived from the tribe Levi (the Levites), which had the responsibility for overseeing Israel's ritual worship. Leviticus consists primarily of laws regulating such activity, including sacrificial offerings, the installation of priests, cultic purity (which includes the dietary laws), and a more general legal collection known as the Holiness Code because of its emphasis on God's holiness. These major collections together with several shorter supplements are part of the P source, normally dated to c. 450 BC. Thus, as a book, Leviticus is postexilic, but the individual laws and various collections within the book differ in age, and some are quite ancient.

J J M Roberts

L Goldberg, Leviticus (1980); S S Kellogg, Studies in Leviticus (1988); B A Levine, In the Presence of the Lord (1974); J Milgrom, Cult and Conscience (1976).

Book of Leviticus

Brief Outline

  1. Sacrifices and offerings (1-7)
  2. Duties of Priests (8-10)
  3. Cleanliness and Holiness (11-22)
  4. Feasts (23)
  5. Promises and warnings (25-27)


E-mail to: BELIEVE about leviticu

The main TEEN'S BELIEVE web-page (and index to subjects) is at:

The main (adult's) BELIEVE web-page (and index to subjects) is at: